Explore the Historic Landscape
 
 

The Shenandoah Valley was virgin territory in the New World until 1716, when the first expedition crossed over the Shenandoah Mountains.  By the mid-1730s, European settlers began homesteading in the Shenandoah Valley.  The original homestead of Stonewall Crossing was established at this time by Swiss Mennonites migrating downward from Pennsylvania.  The two-story log cabin within Stonewall Crossing was built in 1739, and may be the oldest remaining structure from these original settlements along the banks of the Shenandoah River. 


Page Valley was the fertile breadbasket for the Confederacy during the U.S. Civil War. During the early stages of the U.S. Civil War, the Confederate forces enjoyed a brief period of battlefield success under the command of General Thomas J. “Stonewall” Jackson, whose legendary confederates scouted the mountains above Stonewall Crossing and New Market Gap in a constant cat-and-mouse game with Union forces in pursuit.


Over this property ran the old road that connected New Market and Luray, and the bridge that crossed over the South Fork of the Shenandoah River.  As one of the more notable events in Page County during the Civil War, that bridge was burned at 4 a.m. on June 2, 1862, just an hour before the arrival of Union forces attempting to overtake and block the forces of General "Stonewall" Jackson.  Based upon the famed maps of Confederate mapmaker Jedediah Hotchkiss, and the earthen embankments which still exist on the property, it is believed that that bridge and the road to Luray ran directly in front of the house at Stonewall Crossing. 


White House bridge historical marker


Click on any photo below to enlarge.

Stonewall Jackson’s stomping grounds

Book nowhttp://www.vrbo.com/330730http://www.vrbo.com/330730shapeimage_2_link_0
Luray, Virginia offers many special events, music performances and festivals throughout the year.

 Click Here for
More Informationhttp://luraypage.comhttp://luraypage.comshapeimage_3_link_0shapeimage_3_link_1